Kotoko claim top position

13 years ago

Asante Kotoko has become the fourth side – AshantiGold, Hearts and Chelsea have all topped the table - to go top of the premiership standings this season after beating Liberty Professionals on Sunday.

The Champions deflated the hopes Cecil Jones Attuquayefio’s side who have struggled so far this season – with just one win and three defeats – at the Baba Yara Stadium where they handed them a 3-1 beating.

Despite being on top with a better goal difference ahead of two other sides, Kotoko will remain in the driving until the next round of games.

Daniel Nii Adjei, Alex Asamoah and Stephen Oduro scored for the Porcupine Warriors while Latif Salifu pulled one back for Liberty.

In Wa, All Stars will rue the failed opportunity to end the unbeaten run by premiership debutants, Berekum Chelsea as both sides drew goalless. Chelsea remains in second position.

Edward Affum scored the premiership’s first hat-trick when he helped Tema Youth to a 3-1 win over struggling Sekondi Hasaacas at the Tema Park. The win sends the Tema side third on the table while Hasaacas stay second from bottom with one point from a possible 12.

A brace by Stephen Owusu after Kofi Nti Boakye’s opener helped Heart of Lions defeat King Faisal 3-1 at Kpando. Faisal grabbed a consolation through Ebo Andoh.

Gamba All Blacks failed to break the three-year home invincibility enjoyed by Berekum Arsenal at the Golden City Park as the home side gunned them down by a 1-0 victory.

Real Tamale United handed league debutants, Sporting Mirren their fourth defeat of the season when Abdul Salam Alhassan scored the only goal in the 1-0 win for RTU at the Tamale Sports Stadium.

AshantiGold’s miserable run continued at the Sekondi Sports Stadium where Eleven Wise beat the Miners 2-0.

Goals from James Bissi and Bashiru Abdul condemned the Miners to their third consecutive league defeat after a rather bright start to the season.

The final fixture of the match-day-4 between Hearts of Oak and Kessben FC comes off today in an evening kick off at the Ohene Djan Stadium.