Team for Tanzania game announced

15 years ago

A 19-member Black Stars team has been named for Ghana’s international friendly against Tanzania, next week.

Ghana’s squad would be without some influential players as new Black Stars coach Milovan Rejevac oversees his first game.

There are debut call ups for some with 18 year-old Germinal Beerschot midfielder, King Osei Gyan included in the squad.

Osei Gyan is on loan to Beerschot from English premiership side, Fulham.

Kaizer Chiefs defender Jonathan Quartey has also been handed his first senior call up.

Israel-based Derek Boateng has been called up for the first time since the 2006 World Cup while William Tierro returns to the side after a three-year absence.

Kumasi Asante Kotoko dominates the predominantly home based squad with seven players which includes striker, Eric Bekoe.

Most regular squad members would be unavailable for the game against Tanzania on August 20 in Arusha.

Michael Essien, Sulley Muntari, John Mensah, Asamoah Gyan, Quincy Owusu Abeyie, Anthony Annan, Junior Agogo and John Paintsil are all out of next week’s game.

Vice President of the Ghana Football Association, Fred Pappoe says Michael Essien has not been included in the squad because of injury while a couple of players who switched clubs during the transfer period have been excused to help them properly settle in.

“Michael Essien is out injured, so he wouldn’t be available for the game. Some of the regular players have joined new teams and we feel they have to consolidate their positions at their new clubs.” he told

In their absence, new coach Milovan Rajevac will get a glimpse of some of the finest home based talent and experienced professionals available for the national team.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers - William Amamoo ( Etasaalat, Egypt) and Richard Kingson (unattached)

Defenders - Samuel Inkoom (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Godfred Yeboah (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Jonathan Quartey (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Issah Ahmed (Randers, Denmark), John Boye (Heart of Lions, Ghana).

Midfielders – King Osei Gyan (Germinal Beerschot, Belgium), Laryea Kingston (Hearts, Scotland), Agyeman Badu (Berekum Arsenals), Bernard Kumordzi (Panionios, Greece), Jordan Opoku (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Edmund Owusu Ansah (Heart of Lions, Ghana), Moussa Narry (Auxerre, France), Derek Boateng (Beitar Jerusalem, Israel) and William Tierro (Academica, Portugal)

Strikers - Eric Bekoe (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Francis Coffie (Asante Kotoko, Ghana) Chris Dickson (Gillingham, England)