Zonal Women’s league launched

17 years ago

Women’s football has chalked valuable success for the country over the past years with two World Cup appearances and a third in the offing.

Ghana has also won three silver medals on the continent with two of her Queens winning the Women’s Footballer of the year awards. The third Queen is in the hunt for March’s awards to be held in Accra.

However, the country has struggled to have a proper structured football league across the country for women.

Only a few regions conducted football leagues across the countryside. But in January, the Women’s game would move a step higher.

The Ghana Football Association on Thursday launched the Zonal Women’s league in Takoradi.

The league is fashioned in the mode of the national division one league, which has teams grouped into various zones nationwide.

The zonal Women’s Football League would kick off on January 13.

The country has been divided into three zones:

Zone I - Upper West, Upper East and Northern Region.

Zone II – Brong Ahafo, Ashanti, Western and Central Region

Zone III – Greater Accra, Eastern and Volta Region.

Each zone would be declaring a champion and a runner-up at the end of the league phase.

All six sides would then battle for the national championship to declare the champions for the women’s league.