Road to premiership starts

14 years ago

The road to premiership action becomes a reality as the challenge for promotion kicks off for some twelve clubs in the Zonal National Middle League.

And all twelve clubs are seeking for only three slots in the elite division.

Match-day-1 produced no draws but left some clubs frustrated though others secure comfortable starts after Sunday’s opening day games recorded six winners and six losers.

B.A United, Okwawu United and Eleven Wise, all former premiership campaigners who are seeking a return to the elite division lost their opening day matches at home.

however, two former elite clubs, who have have been rechristened since their drop seasons back – Upper West Heroes have had their name changed to Wa All Stars while GHAPOHA FC are now Great Mariners both won their matches on match-day-1.

In Zone I, Wa All Stars managed a solitary win over Lepo Stars at the Carl Reindorff park while B.A. United fell by lone goal to Catholic Stars at the Swedru park.

Catholic Stars are perched at the top of the table and share the same number points and goals with Wa All Stars who are placed second. B.A. United are third on the table while Lepo Stars are fourth.

Eleven Wise went down 1-0 to Mine Stars at the Nkawkaw park in Zone II as Samartex also lost to Kessben F.C by a similar scoreline in Koforidua.

Kessben FC stay top of the standings on the same points and goal tally with Mine Stars with Eleven Wise and Samartex following in that oeder.

In Zone III, Mighty Jets were beaten 1-0 by Nania F.C at the Gyandu park while Great Mariners posted a 2-1 win over Okwawu United at the Robert Mensah stadium.

Great Mariners jump to the summit of the standings followed by Nania FC then Okwawu United and Mighty Jets.

The competition continues on Sunday with match-day-2 action.

Three clubs down the log on the premiership table at the end of the season would be relegated to pave way for three new entrants.

Match-day-1 Results:

Zone I B.A. United 0 Catholic Stars 1

Wa All Stars 1 Lepo Stars 0

Zone II Samartex 0 Kessben FC 1

Eleven Wise 0 Mine Stars 1

Zone III Mighty Jets 0 FC Nania 1

Okwawu United 1 Great Mariners 2