• Home
  • News
  • Regulatory & Integrity
  • Grant names 26-man squad for Spain trip

Grant names 26-man squad for Spain trip

6 years ago

Coach Avram Grant has named a 26-man provisional squad that will travel to Spain for the pre -tournament camping ahead of the 2015 AFCON.

The Black Stars will camp in Seville before travelling to Equatorial Guinea for the tournament which will begin in a fortnight.

Amongst the 26 players who will make the trip includes Goalkeepers Fatau Dauda, Ernest Sowah and Razak Brimah.

John Boye, Jonathan Mensah, Jeffery Schlupp,Samuel Inkoom,Harrison Afful Baba Rahman,Awal Mohammed, Kwabena Adusei and Daniel Amartey will all travel with the team on Sunday evening.

The 26- man provisional team also includes Edwin Gyimah, Afriyie Acquah,Agyemang Badu, Mubarak Wakaso, Rabiu Mohammed, Christian Atsu, Solomon Asante,Ibrahim Moro, Andre Ayew, Frank Acheampong, Asamoah Gyan, Kwesi Appiah, David Accam and Jordan Ayew.

Coach Grant is however still observing the injury situation of striker Majeed Waris who was named as part of the initial 31-man provisional squad.

Three players will be subsequently dropped before the final 23-man squad is presented to CAF on January 7.

The Black Stars will be based in Spain for ten days before travelling to Equatorial Guinea on January 14, three days before the tournament begins.