• Home
  • News
  • Ghana to begin 2018 World Campaign against Comoros/Lesotho

Ghana to begin 2018 World Campaign against Comoros/Lesotho

7 years ago

The Black Stars will face the winner of the match between Comoros and Lesotho following the outcome of the 2018 FIFA World Cup preliminary draw held in St.Petersburg, Russia on Saturday.

Ghana will begin the 2018 World Cup campaign in November after being drawn bye from the first round of the African qualifiers.

The 26 lowest-ranked African sides in FIFA rankings which includes Comoros and Lesotho will play each other in two-legged ties after which the 13 winners and 27 other countries will compete in two-leg ties with winners progressing to a group stage of the Africa qualifiers.

Drawn bye from the first round of the African qualifiers, Nigeria begins her campaign for a place at the 2018 finals in Russia in November 2015, away to the winner of the Djibouti vs Swaziland first round playoff.

The 20 winners from the second round knockout matches will be drawn in five groups of four (to be made at the end of the 2nd round).

The group winners will qualify for the 2018 World Cup which will be staged in Russia.

Below is the African Zone qualifying draw for 2018 World Cup made in St Petersburg on Saturday (five African sides qualify for finals in Russia):

1st round (October 2015)

Somalia v Niger South Sudan v Mauritania Gambia v Namibia Sao Tome and Principe v Ethiopia Chad v Sierra Leone Comoros v Lesotho Djibouti v Swaziland Eritrea v Botswana Seychelles v Burundi Liberia v Guinea Bissau Central African Republic v Madagascar Mauritius v Kenya Tanzania v Malawi

2nd round (November 2015)

Somalia or Niger v Cameroon South Sudan or Mauritania v Tunisia Gambia or Namibia v Guinea Sao Tome and Principe or Ethiopia v Congo Chad or Sierra Leone v Egypt Comoros or Lesotho v Ghana Djibouti or Swaziland v Nigeria Eritrea or Botswana v Mali Seychelles or Burundi v Democratic Republic of Congo Liberia or Guinea Bissau v Cote d’Ivoire Central Africa Republic or Madagascar v Senegal Mauritius or Kenya v Cape Verde Tanzania or Malawi v Algeria Sudan v Zambia Libya v Rwanda Morocco v Equatorial Guinea Mozambique v Gabon Benin v Burkina Faso Togo v Uganda Angola v South Africa