Essien nominated for Fifpro awards

15 years ago

Ghana's Michael Essien has been named in the FIFPro World XI Players Awards shortlist.

The 25-year-old Chelsea player is among the 55 players nominated for the annual awards by the world players’ union.

Essien was nominated for his contribution towards Chelsea march towards the Champions League final in May.

The final World XI and the FIFPro World player of the Year will be announced on October 27.

The 55 players were voted for by the 45 000 professional players that belong to the 42 professional organisations from around the world that form FIFPro.

They were asked to name a World XI, with a basic 4-3-3 formation and the majority chose players that plied their trade in either England or Spain last term.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Artur Boruc (Poland/ Celtic), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/ Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/ Real Madrid), Petr Cech (Czech Republic/ Chelsea), Edwin van der Sar (Holland/ Manchester United)

Defenders: Daniel Alves (Brazil/ Sevilla), Jose Bosingwa (Portugal/ Porto), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy/ Real Madrid), Ricardo Carvalho (Portugal/ Chelsea), Gael Clichy (France/ Arsenal), Ashley Cole (England/ Chelsea), Patrice Evra (France/ Manchester United), Rio Ferdinand (England/ Manchester United), Philipp Lahm (Germany/ Bayern Munich), Ferreira Lucio (Brazil/ Bayern Munich), Paolo Maldini (Italy/ AC Milan), Alessandro Nesta (Italy/ AC Milan), Pepe (Portugal/ Real Madrid), Carles Puyol (Spain/ Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/ Real Madrid), John Terry (England/ Chelsea), Nemanja Vidic (Serbia/ Manchester United), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy/ Barcelona), Javier Zanetti (Argentina/ Inter Milan), Yuri Zhirkov (Russia/ CSKA Moscow).

Midfielders: Deco (Portugal/ Chelsea), Michael Ballack (Germany/ Chelsea), Michael Essien (Ghana/ Chelsea), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy/ AC Milan), Cesc Fabregas (Spain/ Arsenal), Steven Gerrard (England/ Liverpool), Andres Iniesta (Spain/ Barcelona), Kaka (Brazil/ AC Milan), Frank Lampard (England/ Chelsea), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/ Liverpool), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/ AC Milan), Franck Ribery (France/ Bayern Munich), Marcos Senna (Spain/ Villarreal), Wesley Sneijder (Holland/ Real Madrid), Xavi (Spain/ Barcelona).

Forwards: Andrei Arshavin (Russia/ Zenit St Petersburg), Dimitar Berbatov (Bulgaria/ Tottenham Hotspur), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast/ Chelsea), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon/ Barcelona), Thierry Henry (France/ Barcelona), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/ Inter Milan), Lionel Messi (Argentina/ Barcelona), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland/ Real Madrid), Ronaldinho (Brazil/ Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/ Manchester United), Wayne Rooney (England/ Manchester United), Carlos Tevez (Argentina/ Manchester United), Luca Toni (Italy/ Bayern Munich), Fernando Torres (Spain/ Liverpool), David Villa (Spain/ Valencia).