Black Stars trio nominated for 2014 SWAG Awards

5 years ago

Captain Asamoah Gyan, Harrison Afful and Black Stars midfielder Andre Ayew have been nominated for the 2014 Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards.

The Black Stars trio are in contention for the prestigious SWAG Player of the Year award at the ceremony which will be held in May.

2013/014 Premier League champions Asante Kotoko will receive the Club of the Year award for winning the League and the FA Cup.

Ex-Kotoko defender Kwabena Adusei will contend for the Premiership player of the year with former team mate Abeiku Ainooson and Bechem United’s Augustine Okrah.

Jennifer Cudjoe is also set to be named as the most outstanding female player in 2014.

Ex- Ghana defender Tony Baffoe who was the General Coordinator for the FIFA World Cup final match, will receive a special award for his contribution to the development of football.

Below are the nominees vying for honours in various categories:

Player of the Year

(a) Asamoah Gyan

(b) Andre Dede Ayew

(c) Harrison Afful

Premiership Player of the Year

(a) Abeiku Ainooson

(b) Kwabena Edusei

(c) Augustine Ocrah

*Female Footballer of the Year

Jennifer Cudjoe – The most outstanding female footballer in the year. Club of the Year

Kumasi Asante Kotoko – For winning League and FA Cup competitions. Dedication & Valour

Ali Jaarah: (Commitment to the development of amputee football and football in General)

Referee of the Year J.O. Lamptey (Football) – the most consistent Ghanaian referee on the international scene.